Board of Directors

Douglas M. Baker

President and Chief Executive Officer, Ecolab Inc., Director since 2004, Finance Committee

Leslie S. Biller

Retired Vice Chairman and Chief Operating Officer, Wells Fargo & Company (diversified financial services), Director since 1997, Compensation* and Governance Committees

Richard U. De Schutter

Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, DuPont Pharmaceutical Company (drug manufacturer), Director since 2004, Audit and Compensation Committees

Jerry A. Grundhofer

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, U.S. Bancorp (financial services holding company), Director since 1999, Compensation and Governance Committees

Stefan Hamelmann

Member of the Shareholders' Committee, Henkel KGaA (chemicals, household and personal care products and adhesives), Director since 2001

James J. Howard

Chairman Emeritus, Xcel Energy Inc. (electric and natural gas energy company), Director since 1991, Audit* and Finance Committees

Joel W. Johnson

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Hormel Foods Corporation (food products), Director since 1996, Audit and Compensation Committees

Jochen Krautter

Executive Vice President-Technologies, Henkel KGaA (chemicals, household and personal care products and adhesives), Director since 2002, Finance Committee

Ulrich Lehner

President and Chief Executive Officer, Henkel KGaA (chemicals, household and personal care products and adhesives), Director since 2001, Finance Committee

Jerry W. Levin

Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, American Household, Inc. (household consumer products), Director since 1992, Compensation and Governance* Committees

Robert L. Lumpkins

Vice Chairman and Chief Financial Officer, Cargill, Inc. (agricultural, food, financial and industrial products), Director since 1999, Audit and Finance* Committees

Beth M. Pritchard

President and Chief Executive Officer of Organized Living, Inc. (national retailer of storage products) Director since 2004, Finance and Governance Committees

Allan L. Schuman

Chairman of the Board, Ecolab Inc., Director since 1991

* Denotes Committee Chair

Communications with Directors

Stakeholders and other interested parties, including our investors and employees, with substantive matters requiring the attention of our board (e.g., governance issues or potential accounting, control or auditing irregularities) may use the contact information for our board located on our website at

www.ecolab.com/investor/governance

In addition to online communications, interested parties may direct correspondence to our board at: Ecolab Inc.

Attn: Corporate Secretary 370 Wabasha Street North St. Paul, MN 55102

Other Communications

Matters not requiring the direct attention of our board — such as employment inquiries, sales solicitations, questions about our products and other such matters — should be submitted to the company's management at our St. Paul headquarters, or online at www.ecolab.com/contact/frmcontact.asp

Officers

Douglas M. Baker

President and Chief Executive Officer

Lawrence T. Bell

Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary

John G. Forsythe

Senior Vice President-Public Affairs and Chief Tax Officer

Steven L. Fritze

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Thomas W. Handley

Executive Vice President-Specialty Sector

Luciano lannuzzi

Executive Vice President-Europe, Africa and Middle East

Diana D. Lewis

Senior Vice President-Human Resources

Phillip J. Mason

Executive Vice President-Asia Pacific and Latin America

Michael C. McCormick

Vice President-Corporate Development

James A. Miller

Executive Vice President-Institutional Sector North America

Susan K. Nestegard

Senior Vice President-Research, Development and Engineering and Chief Technical Officer

Stephen D. Newlin

President-Industrial Sector

Daniel J. Schmechel

Vice President and Controller

Thomas W. Schnack

Vice President and General Manager-Food & Beverage North America

C. William Snedeker

Senior Vice President-Global Pest Elimination

John P. Spooner

President-International

Robert P. Tabb

Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Mark D. Vangsgard

Vice President and Treasurer