## AMS PRESIDENTS



## A TIMELINE

AMS presidents play a key role in leading the Society and representing the profession. Browse

through the timeline to see each AMS president's page, which includes the institution and date of his/her doctoral degree, a brief note about his/her academic career and honors, and links to more extensive biographical information.

John Howard Van Amring John Emory McClintock George William Hill Simon Newcomb Robert Simpson Woodward Eliakim Hastings Moore Thomas Scott Fiske William Fogg Osgood Henry Seely White Maxime Böcher Henry Burchard Fine Edward Burr Van Vleck Ernest William Brown Leonard Eugene Dickson Frank Morley Gilbert Ames Bliss Oswald Veblen George David Birkhoff Virgil Snyder Earle Raymond Hedrick Luther Pfahler Eisenhart Arthur Byron Coble Solomon Lefschetz Robert Lee Moore Griffith Conrad Evans Harold Calvin Marston Morse Marshall Harvey Stone Theophil Henry Hildebrandt Joseph Leonard Walsh John von Neumann Gordon Thomas Whyburn Raymond Louis Wilder Richard Dagobert Brauer Edward James McShane Deane Montgomery Joseph Leo Doob Abraham Adrian Albert Charles Bradfield Morrey J. Oscar Zariski Nathan Jacobson Saunders Mac Lane Lipman Bers R H Bing Peter David Lax Andrew Mattel Gleason Julia Bowman Robinson Irving Kaplansky George Daniel Mostov William Browder Michael Artin Ronald L. Graham Cathleen Synge Morawetz Arthur M. Jaffe Felix E. Browder Hyman Bass David Eisenbud

www.ams.org/ams/amspresidents.html



AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY