1999 Stroud Jordan Award Jack Collins

ack Collins, president of Collins Technical Ltd., became involved in the confectionery industry in 1951 when he joined Baker Perkins Ltd., Peterboro, England, from his previous position with Lockheed Aircraft. He graduated from Salford Technical Institute, Manchester, England, in mechanical engineering.



Jack Collins

In 1960 Collins joined Rowntree Mack-

intosh in Toronto, Canada. Shortly thereafter he joined the Hansella agency in the United States, which represented Bauermeister. Collins worked for Hansella for nine years until it was purchased by Robert Bosch.

After his stint with Hansella, Collins joined Minter Candies in Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, in 1969. For the following four years he served as plant engineer.

Starting his own business in 1974, Collins again

represented Bauermeister's interests in the chocolate and cocoa industry in the U.S. and Canada until Bauermeister was purchased by Probat Werke. Collins also represented Werner Makat and Ruffinatti. He currently represents Westbrook & Wood and consults worldwide.

Collins designed the Collins Technical chocolate tempering machine, which is manufactured and marketed by Ruffinatti.

The National Confectioners Association honored Collins with the Distinguished Associate award in 1991 for his work as chairman of the Advisory Board and as a member of several committees. Collins has been a member of the American Association of Candy Technologists for many years. He has served on the Production Conference Committee of the Pennsylvania Manufacturing Confectioners Association (PMCA).

Past Recipients of the Stroud Jordan Award

1998 James McGovern; Peerless Confections 1997 Richard Schier; Schier Specialty Sales 1996 Reg Groves; Groves & Co. 1995 Joachim (Joe) H. von Elbe, PhD; Univ. of Wisconsin 1994 Carl O. Moore; AE Staley Manufacturing 1993 Allen R. Allured; Manufacturing Confectioner 1992 Patrick J. Huffman; Grace Cocoa 1991 Walter Vink; Planters LifeSavers 1990 Patrick Hurley; Spangler Candy Co. 1989 Maurice Jeffery; Hershey Chocolate 1988 John Kitt; Planters LifeSavers 1987 Odvar Solstad; Stephen F. Whitman Co. 1986 William N. Duck; Helme Tobacco Co. 1985 (no recipient) 1984 George Jenkins; Tom's Foods 1983 George Richardson; Warner Lambert 1982 Silvio Crespo; Wilbur Chocolate 1981 Bernard Minifie; Knechtel Labs 1980 Donald Mitchell: Bakers Chocolate 1979 John A. Kooreman; Penick and Ford 1978 Robert P. Allen; E.J. Brach & Sons 1977 Bart Siebers; The Nestlé Co. 1976 Lloyd Latten; consultant 1975 Gerald Dooline; NCA

1974 Horton Corwin; Brock Candy Co. 1973 Simon O. Schnitzer; Leaf Confections 1972 Fred Janssen; Sucrest Sugar Co. 1971 Elwood W. Meyers; Hershey Chocolate 1970 Gordon R. Maybee; Cadbury Chocolate Ltd. 1969 L. Russell Cook; Ambrosia Chocolate Co. 1968 Herbert Knechtel; Knechtel Labs 1967 Jay C. Musser; Klein Chocolate Co. 1966 Rodney Welch; Wilbur Chocolate Co. 1965 John W. Vassos; Stephen F. Whitman Co. 1964 Prudence W. Allured; Manufacturing Confectioner 1963 Archie B. Cramer; F&F Labs 1962 W. Tresper Clarke; Wm. Neilson Co. 1961 Samuel F. Hinkle; Hershey Chocolate Co. 1960 Katherine E. Langwill; Refined Syrups and Sugars 1959 Otto H. Windt; E.J. Brach & Sons 1958 Horace B. Cosler; Quartermaster Dept. U.S. Army 1957 Norman Kempf; Walter Baker Chocolate 1956 John M. Krno; Corn Products Co. 1955 C. Rudolph Kroeckel; Kroeckel Ottinger Co. 1954 Justin J. Alikonis; Paul F. Beich Co. 1953 Hans F. Dresel; Felton Chemical 1952 James P. Booker; Nulomoline Co. 1951 James A. King; Nulomoline Co.