## Stroud Jordan award to be presented to Richards

AACT Technical Seminar September 19



**Paul Richards** 

Paul Richards will be awarded the AACT Stroud Jordan award posthumously at the Technical Seminar in September. He passed away in late August after a battle with cancer. He had worked at Knechtel Laboratories since 1966 and was president and co-owner of Knechtel at the time of his death.

Acknowledged as a mentor and educator, Richards had been involved in National Confectioners Association (NCA) short courses, the NCA Resident Confectionery Course at the University of

Wisconsin and seminars for the Retail Confectioners International (RCI).

Richards had been instrumental in the development of AACT Chicago chapter's Triton College courses for confectioners. He, Tim Murphy and Dick Schier launched these sessions under the AACT umbrella to advance confectionery education in the region.

Richards presented numerous programs each year for various confectionery and foods clients. In addition to his formal work with the RCI, he had also been available to RCI members for informal consulting.

Richards' involvement at the AACT Chicago chapter included service as president, vice president and membership chair. In addition, he was a member of the Institute of Food Technologists.

Richards generously used his creative problem-solving skills to help industry associates on a one-to-one basis. That work included 17 patents associated with new food and confectionery ingredients, i.e., aspartame, glazes, processing technologies, etc. He had contributed to numerous industry papers and works published by Robert Boutin, Elaine Gonzalez, Brian Jackson and Bernard Minifie.

Educated in England, Richards graduated from the University of London holding a degree in cocoa, chocolate and sugar confectionery; he also held the final certificate in the same field from the City and Guilds of London Institute. He earned supplemental diplomas in product development and nutrition from Zentralfachachule de Deutschen, Suszwarenwirtschaft (ZDS) Germany.

This award is presented by the AACT in honor of the late Dr. Stroud Jordan, a pioneer candy technologist. The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of confectionery technology.



Past Recipients of the Award

2005 Ed Minson 2004 Tim J. Murphy 2003 Ron Bixler 2002 Reg Ohlson 2001 Melvin O. Warnecke, PhD 2000 Ed Seguine 1999 Jack Collins 1998 James McGovern 1997 Richard Schier 1996 Reg Groves 1995 Joachim (Joe) H. von Elbe, PhD 1994 Carl O. Moore 1993 Allen R. Allured 1992 Patrick J. Huffman 1991 Walter Vink 1990 Patrick Hurley 1989 Maurice Jeffery 1988 John Kitt 1987 Odvar Solstad 1986 William N. Duck 1984 George Jenkins 1983 George Richardson 1982 Silvio Crespo 1981 Bernard Minifie 1980 Donald Mitchell 1979 John A. Kooreman 1978 Robert P. Allen 1977 Bart Siebers 1976 Lloyd Latten 1975 Gerald Doolin 1974 Horton Corwin 1973 Simon O. Schnitzer 1972 Fred Janssen 1971 Elwood W. Meyers 1970 Gordon R. Maybee 1969 L. Russell Cook 1968 Herbert Knechtel 1967 Jay C. Musser 1966 Rodney Welch 1965 John W. Vassos 1964 Prudence W. Allured 1963 Archie B. Cramer 1962 W. Tresper Clarke 1961 Samuel F. Hinkle 1960 Katherine E. Langwill 1959 Otto H. Windt 1958 Horace B. Cosler 1957 Norman Kempf 1956 John M. Krno 1955 C. Rudolph Kroeckel 1954 Justin J. Alikonis 1953 Hans F. Dresel 1952 James P. Booker 1951 James A. King