

AACT Stroud Jordan award to Bob Boutin



obert Boutin is the 2010 recipient of the Stroud Iordan Award. The award is given to a member of the confectionery industry who has contributed significantly to the field in the area of education, organization or research.

Boutin is known among candy technologists as a

"go to" guy for formulas, having worked in confectionery R&D for more than 30 years.

As owner and president at Knechtel Research Sciences, Inc., Boutin has instructed, developed and invented. He has eight patents to his credit, and has shared his knowledge around the world, giving lectures and papers from Illinois to China.

Prior to his employment at Knechtel, he worked at the Illinois Institute of Technology Research Institute; Sunmark, Inc. (Willy Wonka Confections); Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co. (Amurol Confections); and Wilton Enterprises. He now helps companies expand their confectionery

product innovations by blending the science and art of candy.

He has served as an instructor at PMCA short courses, the AACT program at Triton College, NCA confectionery school and RCI Pulakos Candy School.

Some of the topics on which he has spoken or written are as follows:

The Possibilities and Benefits of Using Dairy Products (WPC)

Sugarless Panning (AACT)

Confectionery Nutraceuticals and Bakery Possibilities— A Dairy Perspective (FI)

Nutraceuticals—New Life for Old Confections Back to Basics: Finishing Agents and Novel Coatings Confectionery & Nutraceutical Uses of Whey and Whey Protein Concentrates (Korea)

Dextrose Panning (AACT)

Finishing Agents (AACT)

Sugarless Panning Procedures & Techniques (PMCA) He has also spoken at the Brazilian Chocolate, Cocoa, Peanut and Candy Industry Association conference and is affiliated with IFT, National

Confectioners Association, the Refrigeration Research Foundation and the AACT.

The award will be presented September 21.

2009 Judy Cooley 2008 John Urbanski 2007 Ed Wilson 2006 Paul Richards 2005 Ed Minson 2004 Tim J. Murphy 2003 Ron Bixler 2002 Reg Ohlson 2001 Melvin O. Warnecke 2000 Ed Seguine 1999 Jack Collins 1998 James McGovern 1997 Richard Schier	Past recipients of the 1994 Carl O. Moore 1993 Allen R. Allured 1992 Patrick J. Huffman 1991 Walter Vink 1990 Patrick Hurley 1989 Maurice Jeffery 1988 John Kitt 1987 Odvar Solstad 1986 William N. Duck 1984 George Jenkins 1983 George Richardson 1982 Silvio Crespo	1979 John A. Kooreman 1978 Robert P. Allen 1977 Bart Siebers 1976 Lloyd Latten 1975 Gerald Doolin 1974 Horton Corwin 1973 Simon O. Schnitzer 1972 Fred Janssen 1971 Elwood W. Meyers 1970 Gordon R. Maybee 1969 L. Russell Cook 1968 Herbert Knechtel	1965 John W. Vassos 1964 Prudence W. Allured 1963 Archie B. Cramer 1962 W. Tresper Clarke 1961 Samuel F. Hinkle 1960 Katheryn E. Langwill 1959 Otto H. Windt 1958 Horace B. Cosler 1957 Norman W. Kempf 1956 John M. Krno 1955 C. Rudolph Kroeckel 1954 Justin J. Alikonis 1953 Hans F. Dresel
1996 Reg Groves	1981 Bernard Minifie	1967 Jay C. Musser	1952 James P. Booker
1995 Joachim (Joe) H. von Elbe	1980 Donald Mitchell	1966 Rodney Welch	1951 James A. King