(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1055)

## **ANNOUNCEMENT**

China Southern Airlines Company Limited (the "Company") and all of its directors hereby confirm the truthfulness, accuracy and completeness of the content of this announcement, and jointly and severally accept full responsibility for any false representation, misleading statement or material omission contained herein.

The board of directors of the Company (the "Board") hereby announces that pursuant to article 134 of the articles of association of the Company, the Board considered and approved by way of written resolution the following resolutions:

- a. the proposed removal of Mr. Peng An Fa as a director of the Company, in accordance with the relevant rules and regulations, due to his arrest by the relevant authority of the People's Republic of China in connection with allegations of unlawful acts by Mr. Peng An Fa himself; and
- b. the proposed submission to the shareholders of the Company to consider and approve, in accordance with the relevant rules and regulations, at the next general meeting of the shareholders of the Company the proposed removal of Mr. Peng An Fa as a director of the Company.

All 14 directors of the Company entitled to participate have participated in considering and approving the written resolutions. The format and procedure for passing the resolutions was in accordance with the Company Law of the People's Republic of China and the Company's articles of association.

The alleged unlawful acts of Mr. Peng An Fa were his own personal acts, which are unrelated to the Company and do not materially affect the business and operations of the Company.

By Order of the Board **Liu Shao Yong** *Chairman* 

Guangzhou, the People's Republic of China August 12, 2005

As at the date of this announcement, the Directors of the Company include Liu Shao Yong, Liu Ming Qi, Peng An Fa, Wang Quan Hua, Zhao Liu An, Zhou Yong Qian, Zhou Yong Jin, Xu Jie Bo, Wu Rong Nan and Si Xian Min as executive Directors; and Simon To, Peter Lok, Wei Ming Hai, Wang Zhi and Sui Guang Jun as independent non-executive Directors.

"Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in China Daily"