

News Release

1001 E. Broad St., Suite LL 20 Richmond, VA 23219 For Immediate Release

Contact: Gage Harter (804) 343-2502 gharter@vaco.org

## VACo Names Hart President for 2008-2009 Local officials also select regional representatives to the Board of Directors

Nov. 12, 2008

The membership of the Virginia Association of Counties elected Accomack County Supervisor Donald L. Hart, Jr., as 2008-2009 president during VACo's 74<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference in Bath County. Hart and other newly elected officers started their terms at the association's Annual Business Meeting on Nov. 11.

Hart becomes the second consecutive educator to be named VACo president, following Rockingham County Supervisor William B. Kyger, Jr. He is also the second Accomack County representative to ascend to the presidency. Accomack County Supervisor Clifton D. Marsh served as president from 1982-83.

"I am truly humbled and honored that you have elected me president," Hart said during his acceptance speech. "I will bring a part of Accomack County, which is the most eastern in the Commonwealth, to all the counties I visit. But I want you to know, I will also carry a part of your county back with me."

Hart, 53, was elected to the Accomack County Board of Supervisors in 1979 and has served as chairman three times and vice chair four times.

"Don is enthusiastic about serving the state and intends to reach out and visit every region of Virginia," VACo Executive Director James D. Campbell said. "He has a good understanding of the challenges localities face today and has a balanced view of the issues. VACo strongly values his contributions."

Besides his work as an educator and supervisor, Hart also volunteers as a fireman and works with the Accomack-Northampton Planning District Commission.

Hart earned his undergraduate degree from Virginia Commonwealth University and his masters in education and guidance from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore. He is married and has four children and one grandchild.

## 2008/2009 VACo Executive Committee

President: Donald L. Hart, Jr, Accomack County

President-Elect: Phillip A. Bradshaw, Isle of Wight County

First Vice President: Robert R. Adkins, Wise County

Second Vice President: Barbara A. Favola, Arlington County

Secretary-Treasurer: Catherine M. Hudgins, Fairfax County

Immediate Past President: William B. Kyger Jr., Rockingham County

## **Board of Directors**

VACo's Board of Directors comprises of 24 elected officials representing 13 regions of the state. The terms are on a two-year cycle and the number of directors, per region, is based on the population of that specific region.

This year, representatives were selected in regions 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 12.

Newly elected board members include: **Region 2:** Judy S. Lyttle, Surry County **Region 3:** Patricia S. O'Bannon, Henrico County **Region 5:** Connie Brennan, Nelson County **Region 6:** J. Michael Hobert, Clarke County **Region 7:** James B. Howard, King George **Region 8:** J. Walter Tejada, Arlington County **Region 8:** Gerry W. Hyland, Fairfax County **Region 8:** Scott K. York, Loudoun County **Region 8:** Sharon S. Bulova, Fairfax County **Region 10:** Hugh T. Pendleton, Jr., Campbell County **Region 11:** Richard Flora, Roanoke County **Region 12:** Danny C. McDaniel, Wythe County

## Past Presidents

Teresa L. Altemus, Gloucester County Malvern "Rudy" Butler, Goochland County

VACo exists to support county officials and to effectively represent, promote and protect the interests of counties to better serve the people of Virginia.