Preface

As computer science enters the new millennium, methods and languages for reasoning with constraints have come to play an important role, with both theoretical advances and practical applications. Constraints have emerged as the basis of a representational and computational paradigm that draws from many disciplines and can be brought to bear on many problem domains, including artificial intelligence, databases, and combinatorial optimization. The conference is concerned with all aspects of computing with constraints including algorithms, applications, environments, languages, models and systems.

The Sixth International Conference on Principles and Practice of Constraint Programming (CP2000) continues to provide an international forum for presenting and discussing state-of-the-art research and applications involving constraints. After a few annual workshops, CP'95 took place in Cassis, France; CP'96 in Cambridge, USA; CP'97 in Schloss Hagenberg, Austria; CP'98 in Pisa, Italy and CP'99 in Alexandria, USA. This year the conference is held in Singapore, from 18 through 21 September 2000.

This volume comprises the papers that were accepted for presentation at CP2000. From the 101 papers that were submitted, 31 papers were accepted for presentation in the plenary session and 13 papers were selected as posters and have a short version (five pages) in this volume. All papers were subjected to rigorous review three program committee members (or their designated reviewers) refereed each paper. Decisions were reached following discussions among reviewers and, in some instances, by e-mail consultation of the entire program committee. I believe the reader will find these articles to be of the highest quality, representing a significant contribution to the field.

Apart from the presentation of the technical papers and posters, we are very pleased to have three distinguished invited speakers: Alan Mackworth (University of British Columbia), David McAllester (AT&T Labs Research) and Alan Borning (University of Washington). The program included four tutorials presented by (1) George Gottlob and Francesco Scarello, (2) Thom Fruehwirth, (3) Michela Milano and (4) Joao Marques-Silva. The technical program was followed by five post-conference workshops on a variety of topics.

Last, but certainly not least, much is owed to the organizational skills of the CP2000 General Chairman Roland Yap. We are also indebted to Martin Henz, the Publicity Chair, and Toby Walsh, the Workshops and Tutorials Chair. Finally, I would like to thank Hong Zhao who was instrumental in setting up and running the web-based conference software and to Mario Espinoza for his dedicated help in assembling this volume.

Irvine, June 2000

Rina Dechter Program Chair CP2000

Conference Organization

Program Chair:	Rina Dechter, University of California, USA
General Chair:	Roland Yap, National University of Singapore
Publicity Chair:	Martin Henz, National University of Singapore
Workshop and	
Tutorial Chair:	Toby Walsh, The University of York

Program Committee

Krzysztof Apt, CWI, The Netherlands Roberto Bayardo, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA Peter van Beek, University of Alberta, Canda Alexander Bockmayr, LORIA, France Alex Brodsky, George Mason University, USA Philippe Codognet, University of Paris 6, France Boi Faltings, LIA-EPFL, Switzerland Ian Gent, University of St. Andrews, Scotland John Hooker, Carnegie Mellon University, USA Joxan Jaffar, National University of Singapore, Singapore Peter Jeavons, Oxford University, England Henry Kautz, AT&T Labs, USA Manolis Koubarakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece Michael Maher, Griffith University, Australia Jean-Francois Puget, ILOG, France Francesca Rossi, University of Padova, Italy Christian Schulte, University of the Saarland, Germany Helmut Simonis, Cosytec, France Barbara Smith, University of Leeds, UK Mark Wallace, IC-Parc, Imperial College, London Makoto Yokoo, NTT,

Referees

Slim Abdennadher Krzysztof Apt Roberto Bavardo Chris Beck Peter Van Beek Frédéric Benhamou Alexander Bockmavr Alex Brodsky Matz Carlson Hoong Chuin Lau Philippe Codognet David Cohen Yannis Dimopoulos J.S. Dong Fredrich Eisenbrand Francois Fages **Boi** Faltings Sarah Fores Dan Frost Richard Gault Rosella Gennari Ian Gent Philippe Gerards Nam Gi-Joon Dina Goldin Warwick Harvey Nevin Heintze

Martin Henz John Hooker Joxan Jaffar Peter Jeavons Olli Kamarainen Kalev Kask Thomas Kasper Henry Kautz Hak-Jin Kim Manolis Koubarakis Javier Larrosa Jonathan Lever Andrew Lim Michael Maher Kim Marriott Shigeo Matsubara David McAllester Pedro Meseguer Bernd Mever Michela Milano Eric Monfrov **Tobias Muller** Joachim Niehren Stefano Novello Greger Ottosson Leszek Pacholski Patrick Prosser

Jean-Francois Puget Tom Richards Christophe Ringeissen Isla Ross Gianfranco Rossi Hani El Sakkout Taisuke Sato Abdul Sattar Joachim Schimpf Christian Schulte Marius Silaghi Josh Singer Barbara Smith J.-C. Sogno Kostas Stergiou Peter Stuckev John Thornton E. Thorsteinsson Edward Tsang Mark Wallace Toby Walsh Limsoon Wong Roland Yap Makoto Yokoo Y.L. Zhang Yuanlin Zhang

CP Organizing Committee

Alan Borning, University of Washington, USA Alex Brodsky, George Mason University, USA Jacques Cohen, Brandeis University, USA Alain Colmerauer, University of Marseille, France Eugene Freuder, Chair, University of New Hampshire, USA Hervé Gallaire, Xerox, France Joxan Jaffar, National University of Singapore, Singapore Jean-Pierre Jouannaud, University of Paris-Sud, France Jean-Louis Lassez, New Mexico Institute of Technology, USA Michael Maher, Griffith University, Australia Ugo Montanari, University of Pisa, Italy Anil Nerode, Cornell University, USA Jean-Francois Puget, ILOG, France Francesca Rossi, University of Padova, Italy Vijay Saraswat, AT&T Research, USA Gert Smolka, DFKI and University of the Saarland, Germany Ralph Wachter, Office of Naval Research, USA

Sponsors

Support from the following institutions is gratefully acknowledged.

Advanced Object Technologies Ltd, Hong Kong COSYTEC SA, France ILOG Singapore, Singapore National University of Singapore, Singapore Office of Naval Research, USA PSA Corporation Ltd, Singapore