ANNOUNCEMENT Alston S. Householder Award IV (1981)

In recognition of the outstanding services of Dr. A. S. Householder, former Director of the Mathematics Division of the Oak Ridge National Laboratory and Professor at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, to numerical analysis and linear algebra, it was decided at the Fourth Gatlinburg Symposium, April 1969, to establish a Householder Award. This award is in the area in which Dr. householder has worked, and its natural developments, as exemplified by the international Gatlinburg Symposia [see A. S. Householder, The Gatlinburgs. SIAM Review 16:340–343 (1974)]. The previous recipients of the award were Dr. F. Robert of Grenoble (1971), Dr. O. Hald of N.Y.U. (1974), and Dr. D. D. Warner (1977).

The Householder Prize IV (1981) of DM 1500 will be awarded to the author of the best thesis in Numerical Algebra. The term Numerical Algebra is intended to describe those parts of mathematical research which have both algebraic aspects and numerical content or implications. Thus, the term covers, for example, linear algebra that has numerical applications, or the algebraic aspects of ordinary differential partial differential, integral and non-linear equations.

The theses will be assessed by an international committee consisting of William B. Gragg, Jr. (Lexington, Kentucky, U.S.A.), Hans Schneider (Madison, Wisconsin, U.S.A.), Josef Stoer (Würzburg, West Germany), and Richard S. Varga (Kent, Ohio, U.S.A.), as chairman.

To qualify, the thesis must be for a degree at the level of an American Ph.D. awarded between 31 April 1977 and 31 December 1980. An equivalent piece of work will be acceptable from those countries where no formal thesis is normally written at that level. The candidate's sponsor (e.g. supervisor of his research) should submit an abstract of the thesis (or equivalent) together with his appraisal to

Ms. Doris M. Pahis Applied Mathematics Division, Bldg. 221 Argonne National Laboratory 9700 South Cass Avenue Argonne, IL 60439

by 31 December 1980. On the basis of this, the committee will decide whether the candidate is eligible and, if so, will request the candidate to submit four copies of the thesis. The award will be announced at the Gatlinburg VIII meeting and candidates on the short list will receive invitations to that meeting.