

Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D. C. 20554

News Media Information 202 / 418-0500 Internet: http://www.fcc.gov TTY: 1-888-835-5322

This is an unofficial announcement of Commission action. Release of the full text of a Commission order constitutes official action. See MCI v. FCC. 515 F 2d 385 (D.C. Circ 1974).

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 10, 2002

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT David Fiske (202) 418-0513 Margo Davenport (202) 418-2949

MEDIA SECURITY AND RELIABILITY COUNCIL MEETING ON FRIDAY, MAY 17, 10:00 A.M.

Dennis J. FitzSimons, President and COO of Tribune Company and Chairman of the Media Security and Reliability Council ("MSRC"), will convene a meeting of MSRC on Friday, May 17, 2002. MSRC is a Federal Advisory Committee that reports to FCC Chairman Michael K. Powell, who will also participate in the meeting.

The meeting will start at 10:00 a.m., in the Commission Meeting Room, TW-C305. It will address the study and development of best practices designed to assure the optimal reliability, robustness and security of the broadcast and multichannel video programming distribution industries.

MSRC's membership includes the following CEOs and senior representatives of mass media companies, cable television and satellite service providers, trade associations, public safety representatives, manufacturers and other related entities:

Bruce Allan, CEO, Harris Broadcast Communications Roxanne Austin, President & COO, DIRECTV, Inc. William F. Baker, President & CEO, Thirteen/WNET David J. Barrett, President & CEO, Hearst-Argyle Television, Inc. Glenn Britt, Chairman & CEO, Time Warner Cable Peter Brubaker, President & CEO, Susquehanna Communications. Bob Cahill, Vice Chairman, Univision Communications, Inc. Robert Decherd, President, Chairman & CEO, Belo Broadcasting Lew Dickey, Jr., Chairman & CEO, Cumulus Radio David Donovan, President, MSTV, Inc. Michael D. Eisner, Chairman & CEO, Walt Disney Company Charles Ergen, Chairman & CEO, EchoStar Communications Corp. Paul Farmer, Executive Director, American Planning Association Edward O. Fritts, President & CEO, National Association of Broadcasters Jack Gates, President & COO, National Captioning Institute Michael Haislip, President, Armstrong Utilities Catherine L. Hughes, Chair, Radio One, Inc. Mel Karmazin, President & COO, Viacom, Inc.

Jim Kennedy, Chairman & CEO, Cox Enterprises, Inc. Kevin Klose, President & CEO, National Public Radio John Lawson, President & CEO, Association of Public Television Stations L. Lowry Mays, CEO, Clear Channel Communications, Inc. Harlin R. McEwen, Chief (Ret.), International Association of Chiefs of Police K. Rupert Murdoch, Chairman & CEO, News Corp. Ray O'Brien, President & COO, Verestar Dean Olmstead, President & CEO, SES Americom, Inc. Marshall Pagon, President & CEO, Pegasus Communications Corp. Hugh Panero, President & CEO, XM Satellite Radio, Inc. Ramu Potarazu, President & COO, Intelsat Global Service Corporation Timothy Putprush, Federal Emergency Management Agency Brian L. Roberts, President, Comcast Corporation Sharon Percy Rockefeller, President & CEO, WETA Robert Sachs, President & CEO, National Cable and Telecommunications Association William T. Schleyer, President & CEO, AT&T Broadband Services Rick Sellers, President & General Manager, Sellers Broadcasting, Inc. Jeffrey Smulyan, Chairman, Emmis Communications Corp. Byron St. Clair, President, National Translator Association Jim Taiclet, President & CEO, American Tower Corporation McHenry Tichenor, Jr., President & CEO, Hispanic Broadcasting Corp. Joseph R. Wright, Jr., President & CEO, PanAmSat Corporation Robert C. Wright, President, NBC

Members of the general public and those interested in participating in MSRC's working groups may attend the meeting. The FCC will attempt to accommodate as many people as possible. Admittance, however, will be limited to the seating available. Real Audio and streaming video access to the meeting will be available at http://www.fcc.gov/. The public may submit written comments before the meeting to Barbara Kreisman, the Commission's Designated Federal Officer for MSRC.

-FCC-

| WHO: | Dennis J. FitzSimons, President and COO of Tribune Company, MSRC Chairman FCC Chairman Michael K. Powell |
|--------------|---|
| WHAT: | MSRC open meeting |
| WHEN: | Friday, May 17, 2002, 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. |
| WHERE: | FCC, Commission Meeting Room, TW-C305, 445 12 th St., SW, Washington, DC. |
| Media Bureau | contacts: Barbara Kreisman (202) 418-1605 Susan Mort (202) 418-1043. |