Board of Directors and Operating Board



Oliver Stocken Chairman



Terry Duddy *Chief Executive*



Richard Ashton *Finance Director*



Penny Hughes *Non-Executive Director*



Greg Ball *Managing Director, Customer and Financial Services*



David Guise Human Resources Director



Peter ConnorInformation Systems Director



John Coombe *Non-Executive Director*



Maria Thompson Commercial Director



Gordon Bentley *Company Secretary*



Sara Weller *Managing Director, Argos*



Paul Loft *Managing Director, Homebase*

Board of Directors

Oliver Stocken

Chairman

Oliver was a director of NM Rothschild & Sons and held several roles within Barclays Group culminating in his appointment as group finance director of Barclays PLC. In 2000, he was appointed to the GUS board where he chaired the audit committee and subsequently the remuneration committee. In October 2006, he became chairman of Home Retail Group. He is a non-executive director of Standard Chartered plc and chairman of Stanhope plc and Oval Limited. Oliver is also chairman of the Trustees of the Natural History Museum.

Terry Duddy

Chief Executive

Terry began his career at Letraset working in personnel management and then in product management. In 1984, he joined the Dixons Stores Group where he held a variety of commercial positions, including sales director of Currys, product marketing director of the Dixons Stores Group and, latterly, managing director of PC World. Terry joined GUS in August 1998 as chief executive of the newly acquired Argos, becoming a GUS Director later that year. In 2000 he was appointed chief executive of Argos Retail Group. In October 2006, he became chief executive of Home Retail Group. He is a non-executive director of Hammerson plc.

Richard Ashton

Finance Director

Richard started his career at
PricewaterhouseCoopers where he trained
as a chartered accountant. In 1994, he joined
GE where he spent eight years and held a variety
of positions. These included chief financial
officer of GE Capital's pan-European equipment
financing business, headquartered in the
Netherlands, assistant to GE Capital's chief
financial officer in the US and various finance
roles in the UK. Richard joined Argos Retail
Group as finance director in November 2001.
In October 2006, he became finance director

Penny Hughes

Non-Executive Director

of Home Retail Group.

Penny spent 10 years with Coca-Cola, initially as marketing director and ultimately as president of Coca-Cola GB & Ireland. She has held a number of non-executive roles on the boards of international businesses such as Vodafone, Trinity Mirror, Body Shop, Reuters and GAP. Currently she serves on the board of The Royal Bank of Scotland Group plc, Wm Morrison Supermarkets plc and Cable & Wireless Worldwide PLC. She is President of the Advertising Association and a Trustee of the British Museum. Penny joined the Board of Home Retail Group in December 2006 and chairs the remuneration committee.

John Coombe

Non-Executive Director John held a number of senior financial roles within Charterhouse Group plc and Charter Consolidated plc before joining Glaxo Holdings in 1986. Appointed to the board in 1992, he was ultimately chief financial officer of GlaxoSmithKline for five years before retiring in 2005. He joined the GUS Board in April 2005. He became a non-executive director of Home Retail Group in October 2006. He is the senior independent director and chairs the audit committee of Home Retail Group. He is a non-executive director of HSBC Holdings, chairman of Hogg Robinson Group and a former member of the Code Committee of the Panel on Takeovers and Mergers. Until 2003, he was a member of the UK Accounting Standards Board. He is also a trustee of the Royal Academy of Arts Trust, where he chairs the audit committee.

BOARD COMMITTEES

Nomination Committee:

Oliver Stocken (Chairman), John Coombe, Terry Duddy, Penny Hughes

Remuneration Committee:

Penny Hughes (Chairman), John Coombe, Oliver Stocken

Audit Committee:

John Coombe (Chairman), Penny Hughes

Note: Mike Darcey was appointed to the Board of Directors as a non-executive director on 20 April 2010 and became a member of each of the above committees from that date.