



building the future

The Board of directors

1. David Webster

David Webster has been a director of the Company since its formation in 1977 and was appointed Chairman at the end of March 1997. Prior to this, from April 1989 he was Deputy Chairman. He has recently retired as a non-executive director of Reed International PLC after ten years' service and is currently President of the Institute of Grocery Distribution. Aged 57.

2. Carlos Criado-Perez

Carlos Criado-Perez joined the Company as Chief Operating Officer in August 1999, and became Chief Executive in November of that year. He joined the Dutch-based retailer SHV Makro in 1976 and, after a succession of international roles, became an executive director in 1990. When Makro was sold in 1997, he was appointed Chief Operating Officer of the International Division of Wal-Mart, a post he held until 1999. Aged 50.

3. Simon Laffin

Simon Laffin joined the Company in 1990. He joined the Board as Group Finance Director in May 1996, prior to which he was Chief Financial Officer and Finance Director of Safeway Stores. Following a four month secondment managing the Wokingham store, Simon additionally took on responsibility for Property and Development in January 2001. Aged 42.

4. Lawrence Christensen CBE

Lawrence Christensen has been with the Group since 1974, becoming a director of Safeway Stores in 1987. He was appointed to the Board as Supply Director in November 1999. In October 1999 he was awarded the CBE in recognition of his long service to the freight transport and logistics industries. Aged 58.

5. Richard Williams

Richard Williams joined the Company in 1990 and was appointed to the Safeway Stores Board in 1994, with responsibility for supply chain. In November 1998 he acquired responsibility for Human Resources and in February 2000 for Information Technology. He was appointed to the Board as Group Services Director in November 1999. Aged 45.

6. Michael Allen

Michael Allen joined the Board as an independent non-executive director in May 1995. He is a former Group Vice-President of the Procter and Gamble Company and a director of Alliance and Leicester plc. Michael is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Board's Audit and Nomination Committees. Aged 64.

7. Hugh Collum

Hugh Collum joined the Board as an independent non-executive director in October 1997. He is Chairman of British Nuclear Fuels plc, a director of Whitehead Mann Group plc and Deputy Chairman of Celltech Group plc. He was previously Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at SmithKline Beecham plc. Hugh is Chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the Board's Remuneration and Nomination Committees. Aged 61.



8. Peter Foy

Peter Foy joined the Board as an independent non-executive director in August 1999. He is Deputy Chairman of P&O Princess Cruises plc, a director of PepsiCo Inc., Omnicom Inc. and from 1982 to 1996 was Managing Director of McKinsey & Co. in the UK. He is a member of the Board's Audit, Remuneration and Nomination Committees. Aged 61.

9. Lisa Gernon

Lisa Gernon joined the Board as an independent non-executive director in August 1999. She is Chairman of MyNet plc, a director of Parity Group plc and has held several senior appointments in the international telecommunications industry over the past 15 years. She is a member of the Board's Audit and Nomination Committees. Aged 42.