# Board of Directors





## 1 David Newlands R, Aged 62 Non-Executive Chairman

Appointed to the Board in August 1999 and became Chairman in June 2000. He is Chairman of KESA Electricals plc and PayPoint plc, and a director of a number of other companies. He was formerly Finance Director of The General Electric Company, p.l.c., Chairman of Britax International plc and Deputy Chairman of Standard Life Assurance.

### 2 James Nicol C, Aged 55 Chief Executive Officer

Appointed to the Board in February 2002. Former President and Chief Operating Officer of Magna International Inc., the Canadian automotive parts company. He joined Magna in 1987 as Vice-President, Special Projects, following a successful career as a commercial lawyer. He left in 1992 to set up TRIAM Automotive Inc. and returned to Magna as Vice-Chairman when Magna acquired TRIAM in 1998.

## 3 John Zimmerman Aged 45 Finance Director

Appointed to the Board in October 2007. He is a Chartered Accountant (S.A.) and practised for a number of years at Deloitte in South Africa. He joined Braxton Associates in Toronto in 1990 and then became a partner at Orenda Corporate Finance in 1994. He joined Tomkins as Vice President of Corporate Development in 1999. 4 Richard Gillingwater A R, Aged 52 Senior Independent Non-Executive Director Appointed to the Board in December 2005. He is Dean of Cass Business School and previously held senior appointments in the UK Government and the City of London, as Chairman of the Shareholder Executive, the body responsible for the Government's shareholdings in major, public-owned businesses, and at CSFB, BZW and Kleinwort Benson.

## 5 John McDonough A R C, Aged 57 Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board in June 2007. He is the Group Chief Executive of Carillion plc having been appointed in 2001. He was previously Vice President, Integrated Facilities Management, Europe, the Middle East and Africa of Johnson Controls Inc and is currently Chairman of the CBI's Construction Council, Vice Chairman of the CBI's Public Services Strategy Board and a member of the CBI's President's Committee.

## 6 Leo Quinn A R, Aged 52 Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board in July 2007. He was Group Chief Executive Officer of De La Rue plc until his resignation on 31 December 2008, following the sale and return of proceeds of half the company. Before this, he was Chief Operating Officer of Invensys plc's Production Management Division. Prior to his time at Invensys, he spent 16 years with Honeywell Inc. in a variety of senior management roles in the USA, Europe, the Middle East and Africa.

#### 7 David Richardson A, Aged 57 Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board in March 2006. He is a nonexecutive director of Serco Group plc, Dairy Crest Group plc and Forth Ports PLC and he was Chairman of De Vere Group plc. Previously, he held a number of senior financial management and strategic planning positions in Whitbread PLC from 1983 to 2005 becoming Group Finance Director in 2001. Prior to his time at Whitbread, he had worked for ICL plc and Touche Ross & Co. (now Deloitte LLP).

#### 8 Struan Robertson C, Aged 59 Independent Non-Executive Director

Appointed to the Board in December 2005. He is currently a non-executive director of Forth Ports PLC, Henderson TR Pacific Investment Trust plc, International Power plc and Salamander Energy plc. He was Group Chief Executive of Wates Group Limited between 2000 and 2004, having previously spent 25 years with BP plc in a number of senior positions. He was the Senior Independent Director at WS Atkins plc from 2000 to 2005.

A Member of the Audit Committee

**R** Member of the Remuneration Committee

C Member of the CSR Committee

## Directors' interests in the Company

The interests of the Directors in the share capital of the Company are shown below. No Director had any beneficial interest in the shares or loan stock of any other Group undertaking.

No changes took place in Directors' interests during the period from 4 January 2009 to 24 February 2009.

	As at 3 January 2009 Number of shares <sup>(1)</sup>		As at 29 December 2007 Number of shares <sup>(2)</sup>	
	Beneficial	Non- beneficial	Beneficial	Non- beneficial
<b>Executive Directors</b> J Nicol J W Zimmerman	2,251,034 303,122	-	2,095,652 228,400	
Non-Executive Directors R D Gillingwater J McDonough D B Newlands L M Quinn D H Richardson D D S Robertson	11,000 9,000 327,515 24,000 19,729 12,500	- - - -	9,000 7,000 322,515 22,000 17,729 10,500	

#### Notes

(1) Includes 338,918 deferred shares for J Nicol and 91,108 deferred shares for J W Zimmerman.

(2) Includes 431,271 deferred shares for J Nicol and 98,398 deferred shares for J W Zimmerman.

## Senior management

Denise Burton – Company Secretary, aged 49: was appointed to her current role in November 2007. She joined the Company in March 1989 as Assistant Company Secretary and subsequently was Deputy Company Secretary for over ten years.

David Carroll – Executive Vice President – Corporate Development, aged 51: was appointed to his current position in October 2007, having previously had executive responsibilities for four business units within the Group since joining in 2003. He joined the Group from Magna International Inc. where he had operated in various sales and planning roles since 1984 becoming Executive Vice President, Marketing and Corporate Planning in 2002.

Terry O'Halloran – Chief Operating Officer – Building Products, aged 61: was appointed to his current role in May 2007, having served as the President – Building Products since January 2007, and having been Group President – Air Systems Components Division since 1999. He has had 23 years' experience with the Group in the Building Products business group, including his roles as President of Air Systems Components Limited Partners and President of Ruskin. George Pappayliou – General Counsel, aged 54: was appointed to his present role on 9 April 2003. He joined the Group in August 1990 with the acquisition of Philips Industries. Thereafter he served as the General Counsel of Tomkins Industries and later as the Group's General Counsel – North America.

Alan Power – Executive Vice President – Industrial and Automotive, aged 46: joined the Group in his current role in September 2008 from Van Rob where he was President and Chief Operating Officer. He has held similar positions at National Rubber Technologies and Decoma International where he spent a large part of his career.

Mildred Woryk – Vice President – Human Resources, aged 49: was appointed to her current role on 1 May 2006. She joined the Group in October 1993 and, prior to her current appointment, served as Assistant General Counsel.