SECTION 1: DEFINITION OF IRISH CENTRAL BORDER REGION

1.0 The Irish Central Border Region

The Irish Central Border Area Network (ICBAN) Ltd is a cross-border local authority-led organisation, comprising of **eight member Councils** in the Central Border Region. <u>http://www.icban.com/Home</u> The Central Border Region constitutes a large portion of the territory in the North West quadrant of the island of Ireland. The Councils that are stakeholders in ICBAN are as follows:

Table 1: Spatial Extent of Central Borde	r Region
--	----------

Five LGD's from the Republic of Ireland	Three LGD from Northern Ireland
Cavan County Council	Armagh City Craigavon & Banbridge Borough Council
Donegal County Council (particularly south & west)	Fermanagh and Omagh District Council
Leitrim County Council	Mid-Ulster District Council
Monaghan County Council	
Sligo County Council	

Cavan County Council:	www.cavancoco.ie
Donegal County Council:	www.donegalcoco.ie
Leitrim County Council:	www.leitrimcoco.ie
Monaghan County Council:	www.monaghan.ie
Sligo County Council:	www.sligococo.ie
Armagh City, Banbridge & Craigavon Borough Council:	www.armaghbanbridgecraigavon.org
Fermanagh-Omagh District Council:	www.fermanaghomagh.com
Mid Ulster District Council:	www.midulstercouncil.org



The boundaries, at Region, LGD and Ward / ED level, are shown on a standardised map of all of the ICBAN Region on the DataCENTRAL mapping module or on AIRO. http://icban.maps.arcgis.com/home/webmap/viewer.html?webmap=38d44fe1f3194ab2966d6d737c7e2c7e

<u>http://www.myplan.ie/viewer/</u> Click Accept, On lhs icon at top (Layers), expand and tick the 'Administrative Boundaries' Layer; OS maps, historic maps (RoI) and aerial photos - for all areas are shown - NI to be included during 2013.

http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/census/documents/census2011vol1andprofile1/Volume1%20%2 <u>OAppendices.pdf</u> - Appendix 1 - 2. Rol Census 2011 Description of statistical boundaries. <u>http://www.cso.ie/en/census/census2011reports/census2011boundaryfiles/</u> Rol GIS Mapping

<u>http://www.nisra.gov.uk/archive/census/2001/MapsKS.pdf</u> NI Census 2001 NI boundaries maps <u>http://www.nisra.gov.uk/geography/SmallAreas.htm</u> NI Census 2011 Description of statistical boundaries <u>http://www.nisra.gov.uk/geography/home.htm</u> NI GIS Mapping

Data Difficulties

The 'local government districts' (LGDs) of RoI are the respective Counties, whilst the NI Councils are parts of the Counties of Tyrone, Derry, Armagh, Down and all of Fermanagh. Whilst Leitrim and Sligo are in the province of Connacht, the other six council areas are all in Ulster.

The Central Border Region, covered by ICBAN, primarily relates to the south and west part of County Donegal. Though, there is a 'soft boundary', the closest official division is the Donegal and Glenties Electoral Areas, with 32.4 % of the county's population in 2011. However, the statistics in this document generally relate to all of County Donegal - as it would not be feasible to disaggregate many of the statistics below county level. (County Donegal is also part of the North-West Region Cross Border Group - which has undertaken a different Data Capture Project, SPACEial North West.

Statistically, the Region crosses the EU NUTS areas (Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics); in terms of NUTS II, 'Northern Ireland' is a region whilst the five Rol counties are part of the 'Border, Midlands & West' (BMW) region. In terms of NUTS III, the three NI Councils are part of the 'West & South of Northern Ireland' region and the 'East of Northern Ireland' regions whilst the five Rol counties are in the 'Border' Region. (There are also several other sector-specific statistical areas - including Health Boards, Education Boards, Police Districts, constituencies, etc. - each being confined to their own sides of the border. Some social and cultural administration does take place on a cross-border e.g. Gaelic games, golf or rugby is on a provincial basis, whilst some religious dioceses straddle the border e.g. Derry, Derry & Raphoe, Armagh and Kilmore).

The basic statistical areas in the Rol are 'EDs' (Electoral Divisions) whilst NI has electoral 'wards' - which in turn are broken into COAs (Census Output Areas) and SOAs (Super Output Areas); work has been done towards standardising these basic units into 'Small Areas' in both jurisdictions; these have been utilised for the 2011 Census results in Rol and SAs were launched in NI after the Census of 2011. The Rol EDs are much smaller than the NI wards - which creates a barrier to their comparability; whilst the new SOAs will be a more uniform size, they each have a code-name rather than a meaningful name, thus limiting their usefulness. (There are also 'streets' in urban areas and 'townlands' throughout all the counties; though they are generally respected by the statistical areas, streets / townlands are not data entities.) There are also urban boundaries / town councils (see Table 6) some of which are planning authorities and statistical / 'census towns'. The two different OS organisations and their license / copyright requirements mean that it can be difficult to get maps for the whole Region together.

Within NI, Local Government Reform (LGR, formerly the Review of Public Administration, RPA) was implemented on 01 April 2015, the 26 Councils were reduced to 11. Specifically, Fermanagh and Omagh Districts merged, whilst Cookstown, Dungannon and South Tyrone and Magherafelt Councils merged to form the Mid Ulster District Council. Armagh City and District Council will merge with Banbridge and Craigavon to form Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council.

(NB The Craigavon Urban Area, which includes Lurgan and Portadown is identified in DataCENTRAL as **one** settlement).

The local government system in RoI was reviewed in 2014. All town Councils were abolished and a new model of municipal governance within counties was introduced. Local authorities were effectively reduced from 114 to 31 City and County Councils. Three regional assemblies were also introduced; the new Connacht-Ulster Region will comprise ICBAN's three Ulster counties (Cavan, Donegal & Monaghan) together with Sligo, Leitrim & the other Connacht counties. This new Region will be closely aligned with the Central Border Region, but could result in a useful layer of official statistical data being changed/lost. Therefore, there are significant issues of comparability of the spatial areas for data.

http://www.environ.ie/en/PublicationsDocuments/FileDownLoad,31310,en.pdf'Putting PeopleFirst' Rol Local Government Reform Proposals Oct 2012, include abolition of Town Councils andRegional Authority, p.8 & 12http://www.doeni.gov.uk/index/local_government/local_government_reform.htmNILocalGovernment Reform. Click on link to Maps 'boundaries', mid-page.NILocal