

Albert P.L. Stroucken, age 61, has served as a Director of Baxter since 2004. Mr. Stroucken has served as Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Owens-Illinois, Inc., a glass packaging company, since 2006 and as director since 2005. From 1998 to 2006, Mr. Stroucken served as President and Chief Executive Officer of H.B. Fuller Company, a manufacturer of adhesives, sealants, coatings, paints and other specialty chemicals. Mr. Stroucken served as Chairman of the Board of H.B. Fuller Company from 1999 to 2006. From 1997 to 1998, he was General Manager of the Inorganics Division of Bayer AG. From 1992 to 1997, Mr. Stroucken was Executive Vice President and President of the Industrial Chemicals Division of Bayer Corporation.

Board of Directors

Baxter's Board of Directors currently consists of thirteen members. The Board has determined that each of the following twelve current directors satisfies Baxter's independence standards and the New York Stock Exchange's listing standards for independence: Walter E. Boomer, Blake E. Devitt, John D. Forsyth, Gail D. Fosler, James R. Gavin III, M.D., Ph.D., Peter S. Hellman, Wayne T. Hockmeyer, Ph.D., Joseph B. Martin, M.D., Ph.D., Carole J. Shapazian, Thomas T. Stallkamp, K. J. Storm and Albert P.L. Stroucken. Please refer to the section entitled "Corporate Governance — Director Independence" on page 9 of this Proxy Statement for a discussion of Baxter's independence standards.

During 2008, the Board held 8 meetings. All directors attended 92% or more of the aggregate meetings of the Board and Board committees on which they served and average attendance was in excess of 97%. In accordance with Baxter's Corporate Governance Guidelines, which express the company's expectation that directors attend the annual meeting of shareholders, all of the company's directors attended the annual meeting of shareholders held on May 6, 2008.

Committees of the Board

The standing committees of the Board of Directors are the Audit Committee, Compensation Committee, Corporate Governance Committee, Finance Committee, and Public Policy Committee. Each committee consists solely of independent directors, as defined by the rules of the New York Stock Exchange, and is governed by a written charter. All committee charters are available on Baxter's website at <u>www.baxter.com</u> under "Corporate Governance — Board of Directors — Committees of the Board" and in print upon request by writing to: Corporate Secretary, Baxter International Inc., One Baxter Parkway, Deerfield, Illinois 60015.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee is currently composed of Blake E. Devitt (Chair), Gail D. Fosler, Thomas T. Stallkamp, K. J. Storm and Albert P.L. Stroucken, each of whom is independent under the rules of the New York Stock Exchange. The Board has determined that Messrs. Devitt, Stallkamp, Storm and Stroucken each qualify as an "audit committee financial expert" as defined by the rules of the Securities and Exchange Commission. The Audit Committee is primarily concerned with the integrity of Baxter's financial statements, system of internal accounting controls, the internal and external audit process, and the process for monitoring compliance with laws and regulations. Its duties include: (1) reviewing the adequacy and effectiveness of Baxter's internal control over financial reporting with management and the independent and internal auditors, and reviewing with management Baxter's disclosure controls and procedures; (2) retaining and evaluating the qualifications, independence and performance of the independent registered public accounting firm; (4) reviewing the scope of the annual internal audits; (5) reviewing and discussing earnings press releases prior to their release; (6) holding separate executive sessions with the independent registered public accounting firm, the internal auditor and management; and (7) discussing guidelines and policies governing the process by which Baxter assesses and manages risk. The Audit Committee met 11 times in 2008. The Audit Committee Report appears on page 37.