PROPOSAL 1—ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

At the 2008 Annual Meeting, eight directors are to be elected, each of whom will serve until the Annual Meeting of Stockholders in the year 2009 and until their respective successors are duly elected and qualified. The persons named as proxies on the enclosed proxy card intend to vote FOR the election of each of the eight nominees listed below, unless otherwise directed.

The Board has nominated, and the proxies will vote to elect, the following individuals as members of the Board of Directors to serve for a period of one year and until their respective successors are duly elected and qualified: Leslie A. Brun, Richard J. Daly, Richard J. Haviland, Alexandra Lebenthal, Stuart R. Levine, Thomas E. McInerney, Alan J. Weber and Arthur F. Weinbach. Each nominee has consented to be nominated and to serve, if elected.

Under the Company's Corporate Governance Principles, a majority of the Board must be comprised of directors who are independent under the rules of the NYSE. No director will be deemed to be independent unless the Board affirmatively determines that the director has no material relationship with the Company, either directly or as an officer, stockholder or partner of an organization that has a relationship with the Company. The Board observes all criteria established by the NYSE and other governing laws and regulations. In its review of director independence, the Board of Directors considers all relevant facts and circumstances, including without limitation, all commercial, banking, consulting, legal, accounting, charitable or other business relationships any director may have with the Company.

The Board has determined that each of Messrs. Brun, Haviland, Levine, McInerney and Weber and Ms. Lebenthal is independent. Mr. Daly was determined to be not independent because he is our Chief Executive Officer. Mr. Weinbach was determined to be not independent because he is our Executive Chairman.

Information About the Nominees

Leslie A. Brun, age 56, has been a member of our Board of Directors since 2007. He is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of SARR Group, LLC, a private equity firm. He is also the founder and Chairman Emeritus of Hamilton Lane, a provider of asset management services for which he served as Chief Executive Officer and Chairman from 1991 until 2005. From 1988 to 1991, he was Managing Director of Fidelity Bank in Philadelphia. Mr. Brun serves as the Chairman of the Board of Automatic Data Processing, Inc. ("ADP"), and as a director of Merck & Co., Inc. He is also a director of The Episcopal Academy in Merion, PA and a trustee of the University at Buffalo Foundation, Inc.

Richard J. Daly, age 55, is our Chief Executive Officer and has been a member of our Board of Directors since 2007. Prior to the March 2007 spin-off of Broadridge from ADP, Mr. Daly served as Group President of the Brokerage Services Group of ADP, as a member of the Executive Committee and a Corporate Officer of ADP since June 1996. In his role as President, he shared the responsibility of running the Brokerage Services Group with John Hogan and was directly responsible for our Investor Communications Solutions business. Mr. Daly joined ADP in 1989 as Senior Vice President of the Brokerage Services Group.

Richard J. Haviland, age 62, has been a member of our Board of Directors since 2007. Mr. Haviland served for 20 years in various executive and financial positions at ADP, most recently as its Chief Financial Officer and a member of its Executive Committee, retiring from ADP in 2001. His experience prior to ADP includes 11 years in the auditing and assurance practice of Touche Ross & Co., a predecessor firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP, a public accounting firm.

Alexandra Lebenthal, age 44, has been a member of our Board of Directors since 2007. Since 2006, Ms. Lebenthal has been President and Chief Executive Officer of Lebenthal & Co. LLC, and its wealth management division, Alexandra & James Inc., a financial services company which she co-founded. Prior to forming Lebenthal & Co. LLC, Ms. Lebenthal was Chief Executive Officer, Executive Vice President of the