Svenska Handelsbanken

Press release

Stockholm, 22 March 2002

Svenska Handelsbanken's Annual General Meeting on April 23

Svenska Handelsbanken AB (publ) has today sent notices to its shareholders inviting them to attend the Annual General Meeting on Tuesday, 23 April 2002, at 10 am at the Grand Hôtel, Vinterträdgård, Royal entrance, Stallgatan 4, Stockholm.

The agenda includes a proposal for dividends of SEK 4.50 per share.

Regarding election of Members of the Board, the proposal comprises re-election of Ms Pirkko Alitalo, Ms Lotty Bergström, Mr Tommy Bylund, Mr Göran Ennerfelt, Dr Per-Olof Eriksson, Mr Lars O Grönstedt, Mr Hans Larsson, Mr Arne Mårtensson, Mr Anders Nyrén, Mr Olle Persson and Professor Bengt Samuelsson.

Mr Fredrik Lundberg, President and Group Chief Executive of Lundbergs and Mr Sverker Martin-Löf, President and Group Chief Executive of Svenska Cellulosa Aktiebolaget SCA are proposed as new members.

Dr Bo Rydin has declined re-election.

For further information, please contact:

Lars Lindmark, Head of Corporate Communications, tel: +46 8 701 1682,

mobile +46 70 595 8580 or

Bengt Ragnå, Head of Investor Relations, tel: +46 8 701 1216;

mobile: +46 70-567 1216

or e-mail to: heli12@handelsbanken.se