JOSHUA A. POTOSEK, MBA COUNTY MANAGER

JOHN LIDDLE
DEPUTY COUNTY MANAGER



DANA BOROWSKI EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

MARTIN COLAVITO COMMISSION CHAIR

TEL: 845-807-0189

COUNTY OF SULLIVAN HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION

SULLIVAN COUNTY GOVERNMENT CENTER

100 NORTH STREET

PO BOX 5012

MONTICELLO, NY 12701

For Immediate Release:

August 9, 2019

Human Rights Commission Statement on Recent Racism and Anti-Semitism

Monticello, NY – In light of recent and ongoing anti-Semitic incidents in Sullivan County, and racially motivated violence throughout the country, the Sullivan County Human Rights Commission would like to remind both residents and visitors: hate has no home here and will not be tolerated within our community.

If the Commission becomes aware of violations that fall within our jurisdiction, we will report and act on them in accordance with New York State's Human Rights Law. We also call upon people throughout the County to speak up if you hear or witness any acts of harassment, violence, or discrimination. We cannot let hate flourish amongst us, whether it is a remark made in passing, or a comment we read online; now is the time to call out this behavior before it grows and spreads.

Sullivan County is strong and unique because of its diversity. Your neighbors might not look like you, they might support different politicians than you do, they may worship differently than you, they might be undocumented, or speak a different language, but we are all part of the same community. A smile goes a long way, and kindness doesn't cost a thing. This is not a political issue; it is an issue of safety, compassion, and understanding. Take a stand with us in condemning hate speech, verbal harassment, and violence while uplifting diversity and inclusion within Sullivan County.

If you, or anyone you know has been subject to discrimination in any form, please contact the Sullivan County Human Rights Commission at (845)-807-0189.

Commissioners: Martin Colavito, Chair; Judy Balaban, Vice Chair; Dayna Halprin, Bill Liblick, Kathie Aberman, Charlie Davis, Sam Encarnacion, Shanita Artson, Michael Regan. Executive Director: Dana Borowski.