

GENEVA CONVENTION 1949

The Geneva Conventions are four treaties, and three additional protocols, that establish international legal standards for humanitarian treatment in war.

- The First Geneva Convention protects wounded and sick soldiers on land during war.
- → The Second Geneva Convention protects wounded, sick and shipwrecked military personnel at sea during war.
- → The Third Geneva Convention applies to prisoners of war.
- → The Fourth Geneva Convention protects civilians, including those in occupied territory.

The Additional Protocols of 1977 and 2005 supplement the Geneva Conventions.

2

part in the fighting (civilians, medics, aid workers) and those who can no longer fight (wounded, sick and shipwrecked troops, prisoners of war).

They protect people who do not take

The treaties of 1949 were ratified, in their entirety or with reservations, by 196 countries.



been ratified by 196 states, including all UN member states.

While the 1949 Geneva Conventions

The four 1949 Conventions have

have been universally ratified, the Additional Protocols have not.



At present, 168 States are party to
Additional Protocol I and 164 States to
Additional Protocol II, this still places
the 1977 Additional Protocols among
the most widely accepted legal
instruments in the world.

the most widely accepted legal instruments in the world.

Under the Geneva Conventions, the three distinctive emblems of the red cross, red crescent and red crystal

are intended to identify and protect

medical and relief workers.