

AACT Stroud Jordan award to Sandra Murphy

Candra "Sandy' Murphy has been selected as the 2021 recipient of the Stroud Jordan award by the American Association of Candy Technologists (AACT). The award will be presented at a banquet on September 21, 2021.

Murphy retired in 2016 from the Blommer Chocolate Company, where she worked for 23 years. She began as a purchasing manager and held various positions.

In the 1990s, Murphy was a student in the confectionery class at Triton College organized by AACT Chicago chapter. After her experience as a student, she began volunteering to support the class from 2000 to 2006.

In 2002, Murphy became program chair for the AACT Chicago chapter and has since served the chapter in various leadership and volunteer roles.

Murphy created the AACT's annual candymaking program with St. Mary of Providence, a home for developmentally challenged women. She continues to coordinate the program, now in its 15th year.



Murphy continues to serve on Sandra "Sandy" Murphy AACT Chicago's governing body and is known to step up when volunteers are needed.

This award is given in honor of the late Stroud Jordan, a pioneer candy technologist, to recognize individuals who have provided exceptional and outstanding service, not just to the AACT, but to the confectionery industry as a whole.

Past recipients of the Stroud Jordan award			
2020 Eric Schmoyer	2002 Reg Ohlson	1984 George Jenkins	1967 Jay C. Musser
2019 Rose Potts	2001 Melvin O. Warnecke	1983 George Richardson	1966 Rodney Welch
2018 Gwen Evenstad	2000 Ed Seguine	1982 Silvio Crespo	1965 John W. Vassos
2017 Pam Gesford	1999 Jack Collins	1981 Bernard Minifie	1964 Prudence W. Allured
2016 Randy Hofberger	1998 James McGovern	1980 Donald Mitchell	1963 Archie B. Cramer
2015 Marlene Stauffer	1997 Richard Schier	1979 John A. Kooreman	1962 W. Tresper Clarke
2014 Michael Alllured	1996 Reg Groves	1978 Robert P. Allen	1961 Samuel F. Hinkle
2013 Bob Huzinec	1995 Joachim (Joe) H. von Elbe	1977 Bart Siebers	1960 Katheryn E. Langwill
2012 Rich Hartel, PhD	1994 Carl O. Moore	1976 Lloyd Latten	1959 Otto H. Windt
2011 Terry Richardson	1993 Allen R. Allured	1975 Gerald Doolin	1958 Horace B. Cosler
2010 Robert Boutin	1992 Patrick J. Huffman	1974 Horton Corwin	1957 Norman W. Kempf
2009 Judy Cooley	1991 Walter Vink	1973 Simon O. Schnitzer	1956 John M. Krno
2008 John Urbanski			1955 C. Rudolph Kroeckel
2007 Ed Wilson	1990 Patrick Hurley	1972 Fred Janssen	1954 Justin J. Alikonis
2006 Paul Richards	1989 Maurice Jeffery	1971 Elwood W. Meyers	1953 Hans F. Dresel
2005 Ed Minson	1988 John Kitt	1970 Gordon R. Maybee	1952 James P. Booker
2004 Tim J. Murphy	1987 Odvar Solstad	1969 L. Russell Cook	1951 James A. King
2003 Ron Bixler	1986 William N. Duck	1968 Herbert Knechtel	