

# Minutes of the 5th meeting of The Graduate Council 2013-2014

Date and Time: Place:	Thursday, February 6, 2014 Room 313, Administration Building
Attendance:	Dr. Claudia Cogliser, Dr. Stephen Cook, Dr. Ann Hawkins, Dr. Simon Hsiang, Dr. Robin Lock, Dr. Bill Poirier, Dr. Weiwu Zhang
	Ex-officio: Dr. Dominick Casadonte, Dr. Gary Elbow, Dr. Clifford Fedler, Dr. Ralph Ferguson,

Visitors: Dr. Bill Pasewark

I. The Graduate Council minutes are available in the Graduate School office and on the Graduate School website at <u>www.depts.ttu.edu/gradschool</u>.

II. A motion was made by Claudia Cogliser and seconded by Stephen Cook to approve the minutes from the 4<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Graduate Council held on Thursday, January 23, 2014. The Graduate Council approved these minutes.

III. Students admitted to Doctoral Candidacy.

The following students were admitted to candidacy for the doctorate on the recommendation of their departments. A motion was made by Jorgelina Orfila and seconded by Weiwu Zhang. The Graduate Council approved these candidates.

Mr. Sachith Abeysundara	Mathematics
Ms. Chelsey Ahrens	Agricultural Communications and Education
Mr. Burchan Aydin	Industrial Engineering
Ms. Stephanie Barbre	Educational Psychology
Ms. Kristin Bivens	Technical Communications and Rhetoric
Ms. Maria Alexandra Calle Madrid	Animal Science
Ms. Maria Alexandra Cerdas Cisneros	Spanish

Page 2.

Mr. Muhammet Cetin Ms. Yuepeng Cui Ms. Don Dassanayake Mr. Rolando Diaz Ms. Tianxi Dong Mr. Justin Duncan Mr. Leonidas Javier Guadalupe Herrera Mr. William Gunter Mr. Brett Hafferkamp Ms. Alicia Howard Mr. Shawn Hughes Ms. Michelle Jones Mr. Thomas Kirkscey Mr. Wesley Kumfer Ms. Nancy Layland Mr. Jacob Makaya Mr. Steven Malcolm Ms. Neelam Mishra Ms. Meenakshi Mittal Mr. Suresh Mummadi Ms. Claudia Natividade Simon Mr. Sandeep Nimmagadda Ms. Kristin Parnell Ms. Amanda Pepper-Yowell Mr. Charles Schindler Ms. Lisa Smith Mr. Scott Smith Mr. Lane Sobehrad Mr. Alexis D. Stamatikos Ms. Elissa Stroman Mr. Li Sun Ms. Virginia Tucker Mr. Christopher Umstead Ms. Yulin Wang Ms. Ye Wang Mr. Danush Wijekularathna Mr. Joseph Williams

Chemistry Wind Science and Engineering Mathematics Spanish **Business Administration** Fine Arts Music Systems and Engineering Management Geosciences **Mathematics** Chemistry Mass Communication Family and Consumer Science Education **Technical Communications and Rhetoric** Civil and Environmental Engineering **Biological Sciences Mathematics** Systems and Engineering Management **Biology Biology** Chemistry Spanish **Electrical Engineering Educational Psychology Animal Sciences Counseling Psychology Special Education Mathematics** History Nutritional Sciences Fine Arts Music **Biology** Technical Communications and Rhetoric Mechanical Engineering Industrial Engineering Agriculture and Applied Economics **Mathematics** English

Page 3.

### **IV. Academic Requests**

The following Deletion comes with a motion of approval and seconded from the Academic Program Committee. The Graduate Council approved the deletion

### <u>COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES AND NATURAL RESOURCES</u> Graduate Certificate in Equine Assisted Mental Health Certificate

The following Dual degrees come with a motion of approval and seconded from the Academic Program Committee. The Graduate Council approved.

## **RAWLS COLLEGE OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION**

Master of Business Administration/Master of Science in Biotechnology Master of Business Administration/PhD in Biomedical Sciences

The following hour change comes to the Graduate Council as an information item only.

## **COLLEGE OF HUMAN SCIENCES**

Hour change in Department of Design

## V. Announcements

Dr. Clifford Fedler stated that the Academic Council has formed a committee in regards to the cross-listed courses. The committee consist of the following members: Gary Elbow, Clifford Fedler, Garrett McKinnon, Kevin Stoker (chairman), and Janessa Walls.

The Graduate School will host the 13<sup>th</sup> Annual Graduate School Poster Competition on March 7<sup>th</sup>, in the Texas Tech Museum.

Stephen Cook Wong motioned to adjourn the Graduate Council meeting and Ann Hawkins seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m. The next Graduate Council meeting will be held on April 3, 2014.