Thread: Can I put my BUIS here?

Feedback Score

Can I put my BUIS here?

I've been shooting for many years but only just recently caught black rifle disease. So I bought my first one and was setting it up last night but since I'm new at this I was experimenting with the set up. I was told the rear BUIS goes as far back as possible on the rail and the scope goes in front of the sight, but I was wondering if anyone ever puts their BUIS in front of the scope (see photo below). Maybe non-standard, but here's why I ask:

1. I like the eye relief on the scope when it is further back. I'll be using the scope 99.99% of the time so it seems appropriate to put the scope where I want it, not where it fits based on the BUIS location that I will hopefully never use.

2. A mid-rail rear sight location is actually closer to how it is on my other rifles (e.g. Rem 700). When I mount it all the way back on the rail the sight picture isn't as crisp or as tight of a sight picture (even with the small rear aperture) as it is when I mount it mid rail. I understand it is a shorter sight radius, but it seems to work and besides, it's only an emergency back up.

3. It's easier to work the charging handle without the sights folded down on top of it. Not a big factor but again 99.99% of the use will be with the sights folded down so why not do what works best with them folded?

So just curious if anyone else has done anything like this or I am missing a compelling reason to put the rear BUIS all the way back and bump the scope forward. Thanks!

Last edited by East River Guide; 01-06-12 at 11:13.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    I've seen users of the older ELCAN put their backup sight in front of the scope, the BUIS seems to be made to install in front of the ELCAN.

Nothing wrong with it, the reduced sight radius shouldn't matter that much in a backup sight