Bayer Science & Education

Foundation



To the members of the Nomination Group for the Bayer Science Awards

Otto Bayer Award 2018: Nomination Call

Dear Honored Member of the Nomination Group:

We have the great pleasure to invite you to nominate candidates for the

Otto Bayer Award 2018.

The foundation presents this excellence award alternately with Hansen Family Award every 2nd year with prize money of €75,000 to scientists in German-speaking countries for frontier research in innovative areas of

Chemistry and Biochemistry

particularly in Organic Chemistry, (Bio-)Catalysis, Genetic Engineering, Molecular Biology, Plant Physiology, and green or white Biotechnology.

The foundation is particularly looking for <u>frontier research</u> with the potential to drive <u>scientific progress</u> for the long-term <u>benefit of society</u>.

Further information about the award and previous winners can be found in the attachment and on the Foundation web page at <u>www.bayer-foundations.com</u>.

Should you decide to accept our invitation for nominations, please submit your candidate proposal until

March 2, 2018

by returning the attached form to the Foundation Office in Leverkusen.

An independent jury will make the decision at the end of March and the award ceremony will be held in Berlin in the evening of June 25, 2018. **Please save the date.**

2017-12-27

Thimo V. Schmitt-Lord MBE

Bayer Science & Education Foundation Kaiser-Wilhelm-Allee 1 51368 Leverkusen Germany

 Tel
 +49 214 30 67268

 Fax
 +49 214 30 34893

 tv.schmitt-lord@bayer.com

www.bayer-foundations.com

Board of Directors: Kemal Malik, MD Thimo V. Schmitt-Lord, MBE

Chairman of the Board of Trustees: Prof. Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker

Registered office: Leverkusen Page 2 of 2

Your contact for questions regarding the scientific scope of the award is Dr. Michael Metzlaff, Vice President Innovation Strategy at Bayer AG (0214 30 65 465, <u>michael.metzlaff@bayer.com</u>).

For questions about the awarding process, please contact Thimo Schmitt-Lord from the Foundation Board (0214 30 67 268, <u>tv.schmitt-lord@bayer.com</u>).

We are much looking forward to your candidate proposals!

Best regards,

Winnerd han

Prof. Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Kemal Malik Member of the Board of Directors Member of the Board of Management of Bayer AG

Annexes: Nomination form and Award Flyer with an overview of all award winners since 1984

