must have tended to direct his attention towards scientific matters; but he has always given every department of the College without distinction an equal share of his time and interest. It must be recalled that, before going to University College, Dr. Pye had an equally distinguished career as director of scientific research at the Air Ministry. He held that responsible post during the most difficult years of the Second World War, and in leaving it he faced another great task at University College, a task from which he now retires, taking with him the gratitude, the affection and the good wishes of all. He is succeeded by Dr. B. Ifor Evans, at present principal of Queen Mary College, London.

#### Institute of Brewing: Award of Horace Brown Medal

PROF. HARRY LUNDIN, vice-president of the European Brewery Convention, has been awarded the Horace Brown Medal of the Institute of Brewing. Prof. Lundin, of the Division of Food Chemistry, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, is well known in brewing circles throughout the world and has carried out important researches on topics of interest not only to the brewing industry but also to other fermentation industries. His recent papers have been concerned with, among other topics, measurement of the bittering capacity of hops, the amylases of barley and malt, the significance of proteins in brewing, and the microbiological synthesis of fats. The Horace Brown Medal is awarded by the Institute of Brewing in memory of the late Horace Tabberer Brown, in recognition of eminent services on the scientific or technical sides of the fermentation industries. It was founded in 1925, and there have been six previous awards.

### Royal Society of Edinburgh: New Fellows

The following have been elected to the Royal Society of Edinburgh: Prof. J. Allen, Department of Engineering, University of Aberdeen; Dr. D. S. Anderson, director of the Royal Technical College, Glasgow; Miss Evelyn V. Baxter, vice-president, British Ornithologists' Union; Prof. D. Campbell, Department of Materia Medica, University of Aberdeen; Dr. G. A. Cumming, Department of Geography, University of St. Andrews; Prof. Bhalchandra Babaji Dikshit, principal of B. J. Medical College, Poona; D. K. Duff, consulting civil engineer; Prof. S. C. Harland, Department of Botany, University of Manchester; Harry Hoggan, producer, British Broadcasting Corporation; P. Jackson, acting director, Scottish Seaweed Research Association; Dr. R. Y. Keers, medical director, Red Cross Sanatoria of Scotland; Prof. R. J. Kellar, Department of Obstetrics and Gynæcology, University of Edinburgh; J. T. Kendall, Leverhulme Research Fellow; Dr. H. W. Kosterlitz, Department of Physiology, University of Aberdeen; Dr. D. McCall, resident secretary in Scotland to the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; I. McHardy, director of education for Caithness; Principal W. M. Mitchell, Royal (Dick) Veterinary College, Edinburgh; A. C. O'Dell, Department of Geography, University of Aberdeen; Miss Leonora J. Rintoul, joint-president, Scottish Ornithologists' Club; Prof. A. E. Ritchie, Department of Physiology, University of St. Andrews; Prof. P. D. Ritchie, Department of Technical Chemistry, Royal Technical College, Glasgow; Dr. Marion A. S. Ross, Department of Natural Philosophy, University of Edinburgh; Dr. J. M.

Stagg, principal deputy director of the Meteorological Office, Air Ministry; Dr. R. A. Taylor, Department of Botany, University College, Dundee; and Prof. D. Whitteridge, Department of Physiology, University of Edinburgh.

#### Electrodepositors' Technical Society: Awards

THE Gold Medal for 1951 of the Electrodepositors' Technical Society, the highest honour that the Society can bestow, has been awarded to Dr. S. Wernick, past president of the Society and honorary secretary and chairman of its Publications Committee. Dr. Wernick, who is a consultant to several leading industrial concerns, has published a number of papers on the electrodeposition of metals and is author of "Electrolytic Polishing and Bright Plating of Metals". Honorary membership of the Society has been conferred on Dr. William Blum, who for many years has been associated with the National Bureau of Standards, Washington, D.C. Dr. Blum's researches into electrodeposition have contributed greatly to progress in this field, and he is the coauthor, with Mr. G. B. Hogaboom, of "Electroplating and Electroforming", which for twenty years has been a standard work on electrodeposition practice and has recently been issued in a revised form.

# Permanent Endowment of the Cambridge Chair of Electrical Engineering

THE endowment of a chair of electrical engineering in the University of Cambridge was foremost among the University's post-war requirements formulated in 1944. So that there should be no delay in executing the plan as quickly as possible after the end of the War, the Institution of Electrical Engineers offered to provide such a chair for a period of five years pending the completion of arrangements for a permanent endowment. The offer was accepted by the University, and in 1945 Prof. E. B. Moullin was appointed as professor of electrical engineering. There can be little doubt that the electrical profession and industry of Great Britain have greatly benefited from this generous action. In recognition of this, the British Electrical and Allied Manufacturers' Association undertook that, at the end of the five-year period, it would raise money for the endowment of the chair in perpetuity. The sum of £71,000 was subscribed by 152 member-firms of the Association, and was formally accepted by the University at a recent luncheon given at Pembroke College, Cambridge.

# Research in the British Steel-Foundry Industry

An agreement has recently been reached between the British Iron and Steel Research Association and the Research and Development Division of the British Steel Founders' Association whereby the latter becomes responsible for the co-operative research requirements of the steel-foundry industry. Certain facilities and funds in connexion with the work which has been initiated by the British Iron and Steel Research Association in the field of steel castings has been handed over to the Research and Development Division of the British Steel Founders' Association. This Division was formed a little more than twelve months ago, with Mr. J. F. B. Jackson as director. The transfer of responsibility, as a whole, is indicative of the close liaison that exists between the two Associations on matters of common interest.