Message from Chairman



Sony Music Foundation started under its name on October 2, 1984, after our former chairman, the late Norio Ohga, took over then already existing foundation which had been initially established on April 20, 1977.

Ever since to this day, aiming at the further popularization of music, opera, dance and other performing arts, we have been working hard to promote international exchanges, the further vitalization of creative developments, the fostering of human resources, with a view to the contribution to the further development of the culture of our country.

After being authorized by the Prime Minister in March 2012, Sony Music Foundation made a new start as a "public interest incorporated foundation" as of April 1 that year.

We will continue to make the best effort possible as a public interest incorporated foundation to make further contributions to the advancement of musical art, and sincerely appreciate your further guidance and encouragement.

Masaru KATO Chairman of the Board Sony Music Foundation

Overview of Sony Music Foundation (As of November 2017) Location: SME-Rokubancho Bldg., 4-5 Rokubancho, Chiyoda-ku,

Tokyo,102-8353 Japan

Phone: +81-3-3515-5260 (Main)

 Fax:
 +81-3-3515-5262

 E-mail:
 smf@sonymusic.co.jp

 Website:
 http://www.smf.or.jp/

Committee Members:

[Chairman of the Board] Masaru KATO

[Executive Managing Director] Shigenobu KARUBE

[Directors] Akishige OKADA Wataru GOTO

Nobutada SAJI Tsuyoshi TSUTSUMI Shigeo MARUYAMA Sachiyo WATABE

M. Cato

[Auditors] Hirotoshi KORENAGA Koichi TSUJII

Kiyoshi MATSUO

[Councilors] Yasushi ABE Naomi USHIO

Mitsuru OHKI Reiko OHARA
Mineko ORISAKU Shiro KAMBE
Kaoru SHOJI Satoru TAKIZAWA
Ichiro HAYAKAWA Hisato HOSHI
Tatsuaki MATSUMOTO Michinori MIZUNO
Kiyotatsu MIYOSHI Masayuki YAMADA

(in Japanese syllabary order)