Board of Directors

As of June 30, 1999

Corporate Auditors

Executive Officers

Chairman of the Board

Toshio Morikawa

President and Chief Executive Officer

Yoshifumi Nishikawa*

Deputy Presidents

Kensuke Hotta* Youhei Shiraga*

Senior Managing Directors

Akio Asuke*
Kensuke Uchida*
Kunikatsu Yamamoto*
Shunichi Okuyama*
Tatsuo Kubota*

Managing Directors

Michiyoshi Kuriyama* Takeharu Nagata* Michihiro Matsuda* Tadashi Inoue* Masayuki Oku* Takayuki Tsukuda*

Independent Directors

Tetsuro Kawakami Toshiomi Uragami Yoshiaki Yamauchi

*Executive officer

Standing Corporate Auditors

Umeoki Joko Hiroshi Sakuma Tsuginori Morita

Independent Corporate Auditors

Shinichi Nishio Josei Itoh Kenjiro Noda Tadashi Hirota Mutsuhiko Matsumoto Sounosuke Kera Ryuzo Kodama Kazuhiko Sugimoto Koii Ishida Koichi Tsukihara Masahide Hirasawa Keumaru Ogura Kiyoshi Shibuya Shinpei Nihei Yasuyuki Kimoto Kenjiro Nakano Hiroshi Nishikawa Yasufumi Kitamoto Koichi Maeda Osamu Yamada Shigenobu Aikyo Shuntaro Higashi

The Sumitomo Bank, Limited, implemented a modification of the Bank's governance structure, effective June 29, 1999. This modification was introduced in order to strengthen the function of the Board of Directors ("Board") as an organ that oversees the execution of business from the perspective of the shareholders' interests and to reinforce corporate governance. Key aspects of the new structure are:

- a reduction in the number of directors, to enhance the Board's effectiveness,
- an increase in the number of independent directors from two to three, and
- formation of a risk management committee, a remuneration committee and a nominating committee within the Board.

In addition, executive officers with a tenure of two years have been appointed by the Board to take responsibility for executing the Bank's business. Under the new structure, the Management Committee consists of executive officers appointed by the Bank's Chief Executive Officer.