Hiromasa Yonekura, President of Sumitomo Chemical, Assumes Chairmanship of JCIA

At the Japan Chemical Industry Association's 17th Annual General Meeting held in Tokyo on May 30, 2008, Hiromasa Yonekura, President of Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd. (former Vice Chairman of JCIA), was elected Chairman of JCIA, effective immediately.

In addition, four new vice chairmen were elected, as follows:

Chairman: Hiromasa Yonekura, President of Sumitomo Chemical Co., Ltd. (newly appointed)

Vice Chairman: Kenji Fujiyoshi, President and Chief Executive Officer of Mitsui Chemicals, Inc. (newly appointed)

Vice Chairman: Masahiro Kadomatsu, Chairman of the Board, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Asahi Glass Co., Ltd. (newly appointed)

Vice Chairman: Motoki Oazaki, Representative Director, President and Chief Executive Officer of Kao Corporation (newly appointed)

Vice Chairman: Tadao Kondo, President of Nippon Shokubai Co., Ltd. (newly appointed)

Director General: Tetsuo Nishide

Executive Director: Shigeo Okumura (newly appointed)

Executive Director: Koji Toyoda Executive Director: Masatoshi Ogura Executive Director: Saburo Nakata