Departmental Corporations.—A departmental corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is a servant or agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for administrative, supervisory or regulatory services of a governmental nature. Ten departmental corporations are listed in Schedule B to the Act:—

Agricultural Prices Support Board Atomic Energy Control Board Canadian Maritime Commission Director of Soldier Settlement The Director, The Veterans' Land Act Dominion Coal Board Fisheries Prices Support Board National Gallery of Canada National Research Council Unemployment Insurance Commission.

Agency Corporations.—An agency corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for the management of trading or service operations on a quasi-commercial basis, or for the management of procurement, construction or disposal activities on behalf of Her Majesty in right of Canada. Schedule C to the Financial Administration Act lists the following as agency corporations:—

Canadian Arsenals Limited
Canadian Commercial Corporation
Canadian Patents and Development Limited
Canadian Sugar Stabilization Corporation Limited
Commodity Prices Stabilization Corporation Limited
Crown Assets Disposal Corporation
Defence Construction (1951) Limited
Federal District Commission
National Battlefields Commission
National Harbours Board
Park Steamship Company Limited.

Since the proclamation of the Financial Administration Act, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited has been added to the agency grouping, and two corporations, Canadian Sugar Stabilization Corporation Limited and Commodity Prices Stabilization Corporation Limited, have discontinued operations and have surrendered their charters.

Proprietary Corporations.—A proprietary corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that (1) is responsible for the management of lending or financial operations, or for the management of commercial or industrial operations involving the production of or dealing in goods and the supplying of services to the public, and (2) is ordinarily required to conduct its operations without Parliamentary appropriations. Twelve such corporations are listed in Schedule D to the Act:—

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Canadian Farm Loan Board
Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships Limited
Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation
Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation
Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited
Export Credits Insurance Corporation
National Railways, as defined in the Canadian National-Canadian Pacific Act, 1933
Northern Transportation Company Limited
Northwest Territories Power Commission
Polymer Corporation Limited
Trans-Canada Air Lines.